Skip Navigation LinksHome | Editors' Blog | Post

CMS announces 32 inaugural ACOs

Considering throwing your name into the Accountable Care Organization (ACO) applicant pool? Curious to see what type of coordinated efforts across multiple providers CMS has in mind?

You can now read HHS’ list of 32 inaugural ACOs, all of whom were chosen due to being established partnerships with “experience offering coordinated, patient-centered care, and operating in ACO-like arrangements,” according to a CMS Innovation Center statement.

While ACO participation has been a tough sell for many of your peers (PBN 4/18/11), at the very least you’ll want to look at the service areas for these 32 Pioneer ACO Models to see if they are near your business. Most of the 32 ACOs include hundreds or thousands of participating physicians.

Among the service areas: Massachusetts, Phoenix, Northeast Wisconsin, New York City, San Francisco, Minneapolis, Indianapolis, Los Angeles, South Florida, Central Illinois, Denver, Central Texas and more.

For a description of the selected participants, go to

To comment, login here.
Reader Comments (0)


User Name:
Welcome to the new Part B News Online. If you are a returning user having trouble logging in, please click here.
Back to top